Lady with Cancer


I was doing a series of portraits of people with afflictions. The kinds of afflictions you can’t necessarily see, internal diseases, mental illness, addiction. I was trying to just make a record of the person at a moment in time and see if the affliction was apparent in the subject. I don’t know if my drawing was an accurate account because I couldn’t remove my influence from the results, at least with the drawings, there was too much me in it. So then I started taking photos of the same subjects and painting the results of that. Still too much editorial with the title.

The results are interesting at least.

Leave a Reply

